Victoria Cross

The diagram is composed of nine divisions. 

Place eight counters, bearing the letters of the word VICTORIA, exactly in the manner shown, and then slide one letter at a time from black to white and white to black alternately, until the word reads round in the same direction, only with the initial letter V on one of the black arms of the cross. 
At no time may two letters be in the same division. 
It is required to find the shortest method.

Leaping moves are, of course, not permitted. 
The first move must obviously be made with A, I, T, or R. 
Supposing you move T to the centre, the next counter played will be O or C, since I or R cannot be moved. 

See answer

Math Genius